Dear ProCon.org readers: This non-partisan non-profit oasis of truth on the Internet simply cannot exist without your support. Your donations keep the research flowing, the servers on, and millions of minds fed. Would you consider making a one-time (or monthly) tax-deductible donation to ProCon.org of at least $10? Thank you.
Dear ProCon.org readers: You know the world needs reliable, unbiased information on important issues – now more than ever. That's why you love ProCon.org, a nonprofit educational organization that provides – for free and without ads – nonpartisan facts, well-researched pros and cons, and a platform for critical thinking on today’s hottest topics to millions of students, teachers, and others. Please support ProCon.org with your tax-deductible donation in our fund drive.

If everyone who used ProCon.org donated $1, the charity would be around for decades. Millions visit but few give. This oasis of truth on the Internet simply cannot exist without your support.Your donations keep the research flowing, the servers on, and millions of minds fed. Would you consider donating at least $10 a year or becoming a recurring monthly donor? Thank you for supporting ProCon.org.

Currency and the US Presidents

23 US Presidents have appeared on US coin and paper currency (as of Aug. 26, 2010). Below we have compiled a chart of the US currency with presidential portraits that includes the President's term in office, when the portrait was added to currency, and the number of years after the President's death he appeared on the currency.

By law (US Code, Title 31, Section 5114(b)), "only the portrait of a deceased individual may appear on United States currency." The US Secretary of the Treasury usually determines which people and which of their portraits appear on US currency, however legislation passed by Congress can also determine currency design.

Republican lawmakers have led various efforts to have Ronald Reagan's image on US currency; however, none of those efforts have been successful to date. On Nov. 21, 2003, Representative Mark Souder (R-IN) introduced the "Ronald Reagan Dime Act" (H.R. 3633) to have Reagan's likeness replace Franklin Roosevelt's portrait. Representative Jeff Miller (R-FL) followed suit with the "Ronald Wilson Reagan Half Dollar Act" (H.R. 4525), introduced on June 8, 2004, to put Reagan's portrait on the fifty cent piece.

Representative John David Hayworth (R-AZ) introduced two pieces of legislation, both titled the "President Ronald Reagan $10 Bill Act," H.R. 4528 on June 9, 2004 and H.R. 329 on Jan. 25, 2005, to replace Alexander Hamilton with Reagan. Representative Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA) sponsored the "President Ronald Reagan $20 Bill Act" (H.R. 4563) on June 14, 2004 to put Reagan's portrait on the $20 bill.

Two legislative attempts were made to replace Ulysses Grant with Ronald Reagan on the $50 bill. The first was by Representative John Kline (R-MN) with the "President Ronald Reagan $50 Bill Act" (H.R. 766) on Feb. 10, 2005. The second bill, H.R.4705, had the same name and was introduced by Representative Patrick McHenry (R-NC) on Feb. 25, 2010.
Denomination Face of Currency
(click to enlarge)
Name of President Term When Added to Currency # of Years after Death That President Appeared on Currency
Penny Abraham Lincoln 1861-1865 1909 44
Nickel Thomas Jefferson 1801-1809 1938 112
Dime Franklin Roosevelt 1933-1945 1946 1
Quarter George Washington 1789-1797 1932 133
Half Dollar John Kennedy 1961-1963 1964 1
Dollar Dwight Eisenhower 1953-1961 1971 2


George Washington

John Adams

Thomas Jefferson

James Madison



2007 208





James Monroe

John Quincy Adams

Andrew Jackson

Martin Van Buren



2008 177





William Harrison

John Tyler

James Polk

Zachary Taylor








Millard Fillmore

Franklin Pierce

James Buchanan

Abraham Lincoln



2010 136



$1 George Washington 1789-1797 1869 70
$2 Thomas Jefferson 1801-1809 1869 43
$5 Abraham Lincoln 1861-1865 1914 49
$20 Andrew Jackson 1829-1837 1915 70
$50 Ulysses Grant 1869-1877 1914 29
$500 William McKinley 1897-1901 1928 27
$1,000 Grover Cleveland 1885-1889 1928 20
$5,000 James Madison 1809-1817 1918 82
$100,000* Woodrow Wilson 1913-1921 1934 10
Non-Presidents that have appeared on US currency include: Benjamin Franklin (US founding father, $100 bill), Alexander Hamilton (first US Secretary of Treasury, $10 bill), John Marshall (US Supreme Court Chief Justice, 1801-1835), Salmon Chase (US Secretary of Treasury, 1861-1864), Susan B. Anthony (American suffragist), and Sacagawea (Shoshone interpreter for the Lewis and Clark expedition).

On July 14, 1969, the US stopped distributing $500, $1,000, $5,000, and $10,000 bills because, with more secure banking technologies, denominations over $100 were no longer needed for bank transfers. While these bills are still legal tender and may be found in circulation, the Federal Reserve Banks remove them from circulation and destroy them as they are received.

* The $100,000 Gold Certificate is the largest denomination of currency ever produced. It was used only for official transactions between Federal Reserve Banks and was not circulated among the general public. This note cannot be legally held by currency note collectors.

Sources: "Reagan the New Face of the $10 Bill?," money.cnn.com, June 11, 2004; Richard Simon, "Proposal Would Put Ronald Reagan's Face on the $50 Bill," articles.latimes.com, Mar. 3, 2010; "U.S. Currency," Bureau of Engraving and Printing, US Department of the Treasury website (accessed July 20, 2010); "Historian's Corner," US Mint, US Department of the Treasury website (accessed July 21, 2010); "About U.S. Coins," www.coinworld.com (accessed July 22, 2010)